top of page

Consumer power in food interactions


As a consumer, I think the power held in the interactions is definitely up to me. I do not think that the companies who make the food are really ever in power. I control every thing about my buying consumption. When I go through a grocery store, I am the one who chooses what I buy; I am the one who looks at the nutrition labels; and I am the one who ultimately takes the product off the shelf.

One thing I do not control, though, is the food that is made. I cannot control whether the company changes their product process of a product and I cannot control whether the company keeps the product in production or not. When companies stop production of a product, I have no power over that. As consumers, though, we also have the power to affect the food systems. If we do not enjoy something about how a product is being made, we can speak out against it and we can really explain our feelings. If we are against the process, we can change that. Now, I will say, I think we, as northwestern students, are extremely privileged in the fact that we can make many of our own choices in how we eat. Many individuals throughout the world do not have the same access or monetary funds to do the same. I think our power lies within our resources. If we live in a small town with very little people and have no access to internet or phone, then our power may not be as large as someone who lives in New York City, is constantly connected to the internet and has a large community to speak out with them if something goes wrong. I think it is all about how you look at your life and how your life is affected by the food system. Since I have never been in a class where I have been asked about food, it is interesting to look at my experience deeply. Have I made any changes to the food industry? I know that I have written many letters or emails to companies expressing my interest in gluten free and dairy free foods. As a celiac and lactose intolerant, access to nutrient-dense, healthy foods that are affordable is extremely important to me.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page